How Serious is Aggravated Speeding?
It can be scary to see the red and white lights of a cop car in your rear view mirror. The lights are an indication that you have done something wrong and that may lead to unwanted consequences. A lot of people will admit to driving above the speed limit, thinking there is little harm if they were driving a mere five or 10 miles per hour over the limit. Speeding can lead to crashes and serious injuries, however. In Illinois, there are different consequences depending on how fast you were speeding. The most severe level of speeding is referred to as aggravated speeding in Illinois.
Aggravated speeding is when a driver is driving 26 miles per hour or more over the posted limit. A person who is driving at least 26 miles per hour, but under 35 miles per hour, over the limit is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor. If a driver is driving over 35 miles per hour of the posted limit, this is considered a Class A Misdemeanor. Class B misdemeanors carry the potential for six months in jail, fines up to $1,500, and court costs. Class A misdemeanors carry the potential for up to 364 days in jail, fines up to $2,500, and court costs. Depending on your traffic record, there could also be the possibility of suspension or revocation of your license. Your insurance rates will also increase if you are charged with aggravated speeding.
There are serious consequences for being convicted of aggravated speeding. Each time that you are charged with a traffic violation, points are added to your driver’s record via the Illinois Point System. The number of points that you have affect whether your license will be suspended.
- 1-10 miles per hour over the speed limit = 5 points
- 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit = 15 points
- 15 – 25 miles per hour over the speed limit = 20 points
- Over 25 miles per hour over the speed limit = 50 points.
These points directly correlate to the length of suspension you receive. Points are also added for other minor traffic violations, such as failing to obey a traffic light. You are not in danger of suspension until you reach 15 or more points.
- 15 – 44 points results in a suspension of two months
- 45 – 74 points results in a suspension of three months
- 75 – 89 points results in a suspension of six months
- 90 – 99 points results in a suspension of nine months
- 100 or more points results in a suspension of 12 months.
Points will remain on an individual’s driving record for up to seven years if the addition of the points resulted in suspension of you license. Points will only stay on your record for four to five years for lesser offenses, like failing to obey a traffic light.
Some people do not think that a traffic ticket is a big deal, but that is not true. Any violation on your record can impact your driving future. The Joliet traffic attorneys can want to help you avoid any unwanted consequences of your traffic violation. Contact us today to find out how we can help you with your traffic ticket.